Tags

, ,

Now that Fall is in full force and temperatures have dropped, I went searching through my stored-away Winter clothes to see what new (old) gems I could find. I came across a pair of J.Crew’s ankle-length toothpick corduroys in chestnut-brown circa Fall 2009.

I’ve always struggled with how to wear corduroys and still look chic. Probably because they remind me of my grandfather. But every time I put them on, I look in the mirror and see a mom.

Not exactly the look I’m going for.

However, I decided to give these chords another try, especially since the skinny-leg cut gives them an automatic boost on the chic scale.

I paired the chords with a light purple, semi-sheer, 3/4 sleeves, a-line blouse I found on Anthropologie’s sale rack a few years back. Even though the top is rather summery, I justified the decision because the brown detail in the top matched the color of the chords. I opted for my grey, pointed-toe Nine West flats to dress the outfit up a bit and to compliment the lighter shades in the blouse. I finished the look with my go-to long pearl and gold chain J.Crew necklace and faux-opal with a gold setting J.Crew cocktail ring.

A more stylish look, yet still featuring corduroys. And, of course, since it’s brisk out there I threw on my J.Crew wool schoolboy blazer in dark grey (circa Fall 2009), which perfectly complemented my grey flats.And I’m always in favor of more gold accents.

 

Expect more corduroy outfit experiments to come.

Stay warm!

