Tags

, , , , ,

I’ve never had strong feelings about the “no white pants after Labor Day” rule. Generally, I think if you can make it work, then go for it.

Personally, I haven’t experimented much with white denim simply because I only own one pair of white jeans and they very casual and therefore limiting. However, found an article on The Zoe Report about how to wear white denim during the winter months and was inspired to give it a try.

Jeans: J.Crew bootcut, slightly destroyed
Belt: J.Crew patent leather tortoise
Top: J.Crew black v-neck tissue shirt
Shoes: Black leather Tory Burch flats with gold
Ring: David Yurman black onyx
Scarf: Navy blue pashmina

I chose to pair the white denim with black, navy and brown because I wanted the dark colors to winter-ize the ensemble so that I wouldn’t look seasonally confused. I thought if I wore lighter colors it would look like I wore a summer outfit during the winter, which is definitely not the right way to wear white denim during the off-season.

Clearly I’m still in a black and navy state of mind.

Also, I took The Zoe Report’s advice and threw on the patent leather tortoise belt, which is another forgotten gem that I must add into my rotation.

 

And, to top it all off I threw on my grey wool double breasted J.Crew blazer.

I must admit, I did notice a number of stares throughout the day which I obviously attribute to my wearing white pants after Labor Day, but I thought it was funny to see more than a handful of people so surprised.

What do you think? Would you wear white denim after Labor Day? How would you wear it?

