Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

After rediscovering my J.Crew watercolor printed skirt, I was inspired by the soft colors and impressionistic look. Even though I’ve been on a huge black, navy and brown kick inspired by Fall recently, I decided to go for another softer look.

Top: J.Crew silk watercolor (from Factory store). Jeans: J.Crew ankle-length toothpick. Sweater: J.Crew beige wool v-neck cardigan. Shoes: Zara green suede pointed-toe flats. Ring: David Yurman black onyx.

I opted for very simple jewelry–pearl studs, simple diamond necklace on a gold chain and everyday gold bracelets–and my hair in a high ballerina bun to compliment the simple, feminine look of the outfit. I think heavy or chunky necklace would have offset the softness in the print on the top. Even if it matched, it would have looked off.

I chose to wear my green Zara flats (which I adore–pointed-toe flats always look so sophisticated) because I thought the outfit was a little bland. Even though I chose simple jewelry on purpose, it still felt incomplete. Although there is no green in the top to directly match the flats, the shade of green is in the same color family as the shades of purple and yellow, so the two pieces compliment each other and match in the same outfit. The flats added the perfect pop of color to the outfit and made it look complete.

How do you create soft, simple, feminine looks?

