Tags

, , , , , , ,

One of the major trends this year is lace. It’s everywhere. However, we all know lace can be difficult to wear. Often times is can look too bridal, and other times it can look a bit too young or too conservative.

However, I also think there’s something extremely sexy about lace, which is why its perfect pairing of conservative and sexy draws me to it. Not wanting to jump on the bandwagon and buy the first lace top I found, I’ve held out for a while; but, I recently purchased my first lace item and I’m very excited about the places it can go.

Top: Zara, dark grey lace with gold zipper in back

Under top: Black Velvet-brand cotton, 3/4 sleeves with scoop in the back

Necklace: J.Crew ‘Majesty’ necklace, black

Jeans: Paige

Shoes: Jessica Simpson black patent leather heels

First of all, I love the juxtaposition of conservative from the front and sexy from the back. And we all know I’m all for gold accents, so I die for the gold zipper detail in the back. The top comes without anything underneath it, so I wore a plain black top underneath it and by pure luck it happened to match the neckline in the front and back perfectly. And, since I had the black peeking out underneath the dark grey, I chose to wear my black J.Crew ‘Majesty’ necklace.

Also, even though I claim to only wear gold, I do own two silver pieces of jewelry (three if you count the David Yurman ring that has silver and gold). One piece is a J.Crew sparkly necklace that is sure to crop up in an outfit soon (it’s perfect for the holidays). Second is a silver Tiffany cuff, which I wore with this outfit because I think grey is the only color with which silver looks decent. Of course, I wore it next to my vintage gold bangle.

I excited to wear this top in the future. I want to try to wear it with only a black bra or bandeau underneath, but I need to find a way to keep everything else in that outfit uber conservative.

Do you have any suggestions on how to wear the top differently?

