Tags

, , , ,

I always tend to hesitate when it comes to sparkles, rhinestones, sequins and the like in clothing. I think it usually looks cheap or tacky. Or, its just too much. However, I do own one J.Crew necklace that is full of sparkly rhinestones and I love wearing it at night so that it stands out wherever I am.

Though the necklace can be worn dressed down as a juxtaposition against a plain cotton top, which looks fabulous, I also like it with one of the very few sparkly tops I own.

Top: Club Monaco strapless top with sparkly polka dots & front tie. Skirt: Black J.Crew wool mini. Sweater: Black J.Crew Jackie cardigan. Shoes: Black faux-suede Target heels. Necklace: J.Crew double row rhinestone necklace.

I think the rhinestones in the necklace compliment and bring out the sparkles in the top, but not in a gaudy way. All of the black surrounding the outfit helps to downplay the sparkles. And, the conservative cut of J.Crew’s Jackie cardigan and wool mini skirt balance the flashiness of the top and necklace.

Also, on another note, the first time I wore this top I wore it over black skinny jeans with heels and the same necklace as pictured above. However, I think it actually looks much better tucked into a skirt. I think this top and necklace with a tighter-fitting black skirt (like a bandage skirt) would be a perfect look for the holidays (with a cardigan or blazer) and New Years (without a cardigan, of course).

Do you wear sparkly and/or flashy pieces? How do you wear them?

