Tags

, , , ,

The other night I decided to wear one of my absolute favorite J.Crew skirts I own (and I own a lot). I purchased this skirt on sale last Spring, but don’t wear it very often because its rather difficult to wear. The material is very dressy and also very limiting. Because of the textured flowers, pairing it with a printed top is almost out of the question. Also, because the skirt fits me loosely, tucking a flowy silk top into it makes the proportions look off and looks unflattering. So, I decided to pair it with a tight black cotton top and a chunky costume bracelet to compliment the skirt and make the outfit more fun.

Top: Black cotton Anthropologie scoop neck. Skirt: J.Crew purple tulle mini skirt w/ grey grosgrain ribbon & bubble hem. Shoes: Grey Nine West pointed-toe flats. Rings: David Yurman black onyx & J.Crew opal cocktail ring. Bracelet: Chunky purple stones, Anthropologie & vintage gold bangle with silver Tiffany cuff.

I think the reason this skirt is so pretty and feminine is because it looks a bit like it was inspired by a little girl’s ballerina tutu. The color, the tulle textured flowers, the bubble hem and the grey grosgrain ribbon at the top all work together to create a sophisticated, wearable take on a tutu. And what do ballerinas wear with tutus? Leotards! I think part of the reason why I always go back to this particular top with this skirt is because it matches along the same lines of the tutu/leotard concept. But I wouldn’t go so far as to wear ballerina flats with this outfit because I think that’s taking the idea a little too far.

Also, the purple costume bracelet matches perfectly and makes the look more fun for going out at night. Plus, it adds that little something to the outfit to make it look complete.

Do you have any other suggestions for how to wear this skirt? What would you pair it with if you owned it?

